• Szkolenia wysokościowe ROCKMASTER komin2.jpg
  • Szkolenia wysokościowe ROCKMASTER komin3.jpg
  • Szkolenia wysokościowe ROCKMASTER rot3_maly_03.jpg
  • Szkolenia wysokościowe ROCKMASTER rot33.jpg


Rope access work can only by carried out in a responsible and safe manner by suitably trained, experienced, competent technicians. They should have the appropriate knowledge about rope access techniques as well as the knowledge necessary to be able to check and assess their own equipment. In view of the risk associated with working at height, IRATA hasestablished a proper training scheme and grouped the operatives into three grades in respect of their abilities and experience:

  • Level 1: technician;
  • Level 2: lead technician;
  • Level 3: supervisor.


General requirements for each level are:

  • Level 1: at this level, a worker is able to perform a limited number of tasks under the supervision of a level 3 technician;
  • Level 2: at this level, a worker is able to perform all the rope access tasks including rigging and take part in rescue actions, still under supervision of a Level 3 technician;
  • Level 3: at this level, a worker is in charge of supervision and all the Level 1 and 2 technicians; is able to demonstrate the Level 1 and 2 skills and knowledge; has a comprehensive knowledge of advanced rescue methods and relevant legislation.




Achieving each of the above levels results in getting a suitable certificate of competence and a logbook where a technician puts down all the work carried out as well as his additional certificates confirming further qualifications.


The IRATA certificate should be renewed within the date of assessment. Revalidation consists of refresher training and a re-assessment by an independent IRATA assessor. The length of this re-training depends on the current regulations.


Additionally, also the technicians who have not used rope access techniques for six months are required to complete a suitable refresher training which involves different aspects of rope access work including changed techniques as well as new equipment.




Base requirements for candidates to take part in the IRATA training:

  • The minimum age of candidates is 18;
  • The candidates should be physically fit and free from any disability or medical condition that may prevent them from working safely.
  • The candidates should ensure they have an adequate level of physical and mental fitness.
  • They should also be able to withstand severe weather conditions such as heat, cold or wind;
  • The candidates should be reliable, conscientious and responsible;
  • The candidates have none of the following medical conditions:
    • Heart problems / chest pains;
    • High blood pressure;
    • Epilepsy, swooning;
    • Vertigo;
    • Unstable equilibrium;
    • Limb immobility;
    • Alcohol or drug addictions;
    • Mental problems;
    • Diabetics.


Additional requirements depending of the level:


 To take part in Level 2 training, candidates should:

  • have 12 months experience and have logged a minimum of 1000 working hours using rope access techniques as a level 1 technician.

 To take part in Level 3 training, candidates should:


  • have logged a minimum of 1000 working hours using rope access techniques as a level 2 technician, i.e. a minimum total of 2000 hours, in different situations and using a wide range of techniques;
  • hold an appropriate first aid certificate;
  • have a written recommendation from an IRATA member company or an assessor confirming the candidate’s responsibility and experience.


IRATA training process


The training is always 5 days long and includes theoretical lectures where the technicians familiarize themselves with the equipment and gain knowledge about rope access methods and legislation. However, the main part is the practical training which enables the candidates to train all the maneuvers. At the end, all the candidates take part in a one-day-long IRATA assessment carried out by an independent IRATA assessor.








Copyright © 2012 Rock Master - Szkolenia wysokościowe Kraków, Warszawa, Katowice, Gdańsk, Poznań